THC Possession in Wisconsin
THC, or tetrahydrocannabinol, is the primary psychoactive ingredient in cannabis (often referred to as marijuana). It is one of the most commonly used controlled substances in the United States. Some states have recently legalized cannabis to capitalize on its popularity, but Wisconsin is not yet among those states. Therefore, anytime you’re charged with dealing, delivery, or possession with intent to distribute in the state of Wisconsin, you will be facing penalty charges. It is important to remember that regardless of the class of the felony, you will be facing jail time and thousands of dollars in fines.
Possession charges are less severe than distribution charges or an intent to distribute, but the consequences remain significant. If a person possesses or attempts to possess THC in the state of Wisconsin, said person may be fined up to $1,000, imprisoned for approximately six months, or both for a first offense. A second offense is classified as a Class I felony, which carries a possible sentence of up to a $10,000 fine, 3.5 years’ imprisonment, or both. Controlled substance charges in the state of Wisconsin can be particularly severe compared to most states, making it crucial that you have a defense lawyer familiar with fighting this charge in Wisconsin.
Repka Law has a reputation for fighting controlled substance charges in the state of Wisconsin. The dedicated attorneys at Repka Law believe rules are not just for the citizens that live within the country’s borders, but for the people and establishments that create and enforce them. With this mindset, you can rest assured that Repka will do everything they can to provide you with a strong defense in court. For information on how Repka Law can help you, contact Repka Law.
For more information on drug laws in Wisconsin: Click Here